Jonathan Cunkelman, GSP

ESH Coordinator
Phone: 540-846-5555
Cell: 724-875-3699
EMail: jcunkelman@eastcoastrm.com

Professional Summary

I started my Safety career by providing physical security equipment. I began by installing and maintaining large vehicle barriers for a manufacture in 1998. Over the next fifteen years, I worked for several companies installing, repairing, selling, and even designing physical security equipment. I was based in the Washington DC area, but traveled to many states and countries addressing security needs of small private companies to large federal agencies.

In 2013 my position was downsized and rather than continue in the security field I chose to go back to school and earn my Safety, Health and Environmental BS degree at Indiana University of Pennsylvania. In the Summer of 2015 I finished my degree requirements with an internship at Epic Metals in Pittsburgh. At Epic Metals I conducted several industrial hygiene reports, OSHA style audits, and provided training for employees.

After graduation Epic Metals kept me on for a few projects and in the fall of 2015 I began working for ECRM as the ESH Coordinator at (CRF) Chestnut Ridge Foam. This position places me in the role of Environmental and Safety Director at their plant in Latrobe, PA. Although I work for ECRM I report to the VP of operations of this facility and provide boots on the ground service for the plant Environmental and Safety needs. As a newer safety professional this position allows me independence of handling the role for a mid sized company, but grants me the advantage of access to many other safety professionals to insure years of experience and specialties to back me.

In the next few years I plan to expand my Environmental regulations knowledge and take my CSP exam.

About Me

I grew up in Western PA as the youngest of 7 kids. I am a fairly active runner and trained about 850 miles last year. I also competed in over 30 races. Most were 5k events, but have competed in distances from 1 mile to 13.1 miles. I also enjoy hiking, kayaking, and other outdoor adventures.

I am involved with Boys Scouts, coach and manage the cross country program at Blairsville High School, volunteer with the Blairsville wrestling program, and serve as a lay speaker in my church.

I have a wife that teaches for a local head start program and a son that is a senior at Homer Center High school.

Favorite Quote

“If you think you can do a thing or think you can’t do a thing, you’re right.” – Henry Ford

 If you had to pick one meal to eat every day for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Grilled Pork Roast

 Where was your most memorable vacation?

Alaska with my dad and one of my brothers-Thirteen days and an RV